Japan in the Year is an all-day symposium that gathers the top experts on Japan from think tanks, academia, the government, the press and the business and non-profit sectors to look at Japan’s domestic and international prospects for the coming year.

This event is held every January.

Japan in 2021: A Look at the Year Ahead

Date: Wednesday, January 13th and Thursday, January 14th, 2020
Time: 6:30-9:30 PM & 7:30-9:15AM EST.
Location: Virtual (Hopin)

Challenges, opportunities, and major events await Japan in 2021, notably related to its recovery from the global pandemic, hosting of the delayed Summer Olympics, the beginnings of the Suga and Biden administrations, and various geopolitical and security developments. 

Japan in 2021 featured a fireside chat between Ambassador Kenichiro Sasae and Ambassador John Roos, moderated by Dr. Sheila Smith.

This event is cosponsored by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace with support from the National Association of Japan-America Societies.

AGENDA

January 13, 2021

7:00 to 7:05 p.m. EST (9:00 to 9:05 a.m. JST, Jan 14)
Welcome Remarks
Ryan Shaffer, Japan-America Society of Washington DC
James L. Schoff, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

7:05 to 8:00 p.m. EST (9:05 to 10:00 a.m. JST, Jan 14)
Japan’s Domestic Political and Economic Prospects in 2021
Jon Shalowitz, Silicon Valley Japan Platform
Marie Anchordoguy, Jackson School of International Studies
Keiko Iizuka, Yomiuri Shimbun
Moderator: James L. Schoff, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

8:00 to 8:45 p.m. EST (10:00 to 10:45 a.m. JST, Jan 14)
Fireside Chat—A Look at the Year Ahead for the U.S.-Japan Relationship
Ambassador John Roos, Geodesic Capital
Ambassador Kenichiro Sasae, Japan Institute of International Affairs Moderator: Sheila Smith, Council on Foreign Relations

January 14, 2021 8:00 to 8:05 a.m. EST (10:00 to 10:05 p.m. JST)
Welcome Remarks
James L. Schoff, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Ryan Shaffer, Japan-America Society of Washington DC

8:05 to 8:15 a.m. EST (10:05 to 10:15 p.m. JST)
The View from the Embassy
DCM Tamaki Tsukada, Embassy of Japan

8:15 to 9:15 a.m. EST (10:15 to 11:15 p.m. JST)
Fireside Chat—A Look at the Year Ahead for the U.S.-Japan Relationship
Glen S. Fukushima, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Yuka Koshino, Institute for International Strategic Studies
Gordon Flake, US-Asia Centre, Perth
Moderator: Emma Chanlett-Avery, Congressional Research Service

Past Japan in the Year Programs

2020 Highlights:
Livestream Video >>

2019 Highlights:
Report >>

2018 Highlights:

Report >>
Livestream Video >>

2017 Highlights:
Report >>
Photos >>

2016 Highlights:
Blog post >>
Storify article (contains excerpts of livetweets, photos) >>
Photos >>

2015 Highlights:
Blog post >>
Photos >>